Dynamos Draw With Limerick


League of Ireland ‘A’ Championship
Tralee Dynamos  3   Limerick FC  3

(By Christy Leahy)

The game was only in its third minute when Limerick were awarded a corner that was taken by Brian McGorrian. He opted for the near post where Sean Brosnan, from Castleisland, back heeled the ball to the net to stun Tralee Dynamos. Cillian O’Connor replaced the injured Audi Dunlea in the 16th  and when Uros Ivkovic knocked down the ball in to O’Connor’s path  he struck a stunning goal with his first touch that was so powerful in stayed wedged between the net  and the back stancion. Jonathan Hannafin, who turned in a superb man of the match performance,  initiated the attack that gave Dynamos the lead in the 35th minute when he won  a hard fought possession in midfield to put O’Connor through wide on the wing. O’Connor went to the end line before crossing to Daniel Clinton who chipped the keeper to give the home side a deserved lead. Stephen McCarthy failed to score from the penalty spot just before half time.

Dynamos defended well in the second half but due to constant pressure Limerick got the equalising goal in the 76th minute. Robert Birdsal called for the ball  but he failed to gather it properly and Brosnan got in for his second goal. Worse was to follow in the 82nd minute when Birdsall came too far off  his line and Steven McGann flicked the ball past him to give Limerick the lead. It looked all over as the game entered its fourth minute of injury time but Dynamos were awarded a corner that Brian Fitzgerald headed powerfully to the net in what was to be the last action of the game.
Tralee Dynamos:  Robert Birdsall, Jamie Barry, Kevin McCarthy, Maurice O’Rahilly, Brian Fitzgerald,  Audi Dunlea, Aaron Houlihan, Uros Ivkovic,  Stephen McCarthy, Daniel Clinton, Jonathan Burrows. Reserves Cillian O’Connor,  Damien Locke and Presley Dube
Limerick:  David Ryan, Leo O’Meara, Ed Gallagher, Philip Lavin, Brian O’Calaghan, Sean Brosnan, David Donnan,  Steven McGann,  Fatmadh Dunisha, Brian McGorran. Reserves: Ian Moore, Robert Shield.